(Actionable method) Health in your hands

I invite you on an educative (in an exciting way) trip to India. Well not literally, unless you’re up for it? I’d love some authentic Indian food. Cheese filled garlic naans are the best.

So what are mudras? A mudrā is a spiritual gesture and an energetic seal of authenticity employed in the iconography and spiritual practice of Indian religions.

In Hinduism it is said that mudras are helpful in awakening Kundalini power - dormant potential force in the human organism.

In other words - body organs (glands and nerves) get stimulated through various helpful hand gestures during mediation (or yoga). Except you can practice them right now without being stuck in a downward sunny tree pose. (It’s most likely not a real pose, but you never know.)

When you look back to early civilizations who portrayed gods in their paintings, the majority of times they always showed their hands in different kind of mudras. Feel free to put that into your next trivia quiz.

Yes, I know how it sounds. Hand gestures that are supposed to improve health? Come on, Christina. Yes I know how it sounds, but all legends and folklore have some historically significant truth to them, and I’ll let you discover that part yourself.

You can also easily replicate as we’re going through them.

There are more than 100 known Mudras, and we’re going to look at the most powerful 7 of them that provide empowerment. It really varies how long you should hold your hands in these positions. A couple minutes is enough. Unless you are into extreme.

1. Gyan Mudra


This is the most familiar mudra. You see most yogi’s holding hands like this.

It improves your concentration and enhances your memory. It’s said to prevent insomnia, so if you’re not falling asleep and are tired of switching positions and staring into nothing, remember this hand position and give it a try.

2. Prithvi Mudra


Regular practice keeps your body stable - It promotes spiritual balance within the body, improves self confidence by making your mind and body one.

3. Prana Mudra


It’s the mudra of life also called the spirit of life. It turns on inactive energy in your body, thus combating fatigue.

4. Rudra Mudra


Rudra means lord - and this mudra affects solar plexus; your power center. It is said to relieve the ‘chronic’ tension in your body by energizing it. Enjoy saying Rudra Mudra out loud!

5. Shunya Mudra


Shunya means void or empty. This mudra decreases space element in your body, giving you a level of tranquility.


6. Surya Mudra


Fun fact - also called the weight loss mudra. Surya - meaning ‘Sun’ in Sanskrit, is known to increase the fire element in the body. Fire spurs the digestive system.

Its core function is to increase vitality.

7. Shiva Linga Mudra

Shiva Linga

Shiva is the Hindu god of destruction. Linga meaning to ‘move on’. A symbol of masculine and feminine. It’s an integration of energies. It brings balance between the two, recharging you.

As I said, all legends and folklore have some historically significant truth to them, and I’ll let you discover that part yourself. Feel free to try them, even if it’s for your own entertainment.



Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

You may also like

View all
Example blog post
Example blog post
Example blog post